Rozana Montiel
Estudio de

To materialize comes from the Latin 'to become mother'. In Greek mythology Rhea is the figure of female fertility, motherhood and generation. Her name means 'that which flows'


ROZANA MONTIEL | ARCHITECTURE STUDIO (REA) is an office specialized on architectural design, artistic re-conceptualizations of space, and the public domain. The studio works on a wide variety of projects in different scales and layers that range from the city to the book, the artefact and other micro-objects.

Their areas of research include living spaces, urban uses of public space, and the resignification of building materials with an emphasis on place-making, livability, and temporary uses of space. The workshop believes that beauty is a social right, and therefore seeks to generate quality spaces with multiple temporal narratives.

Rozana Montiel is founder and director of the Mexico-based architectural firm ROZANA MONTIEL | ESTUDIO DE ARQUITECTURA.

Montiel holds an MA in Architectural Theory and Criticism from the Universitat Politécnica de Catalunya UPC (Spain, 2000), and a BA with Honors in Architecture and Urban Planning from the Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico, 1998).

Her interdisciplinary work has been published in renowned architectural magazines, as well as exhibited in Mexico, Italy, Spain, France, United States, United Kingdom, Germany and China. She has also presented her work in several editions of the Venice, Sao Paulo, Rotterdam and Lima biennials. Montiel is a member of the Editorial Board of the Architecture Magazine Arquine; she has given lectures, courses and seminars on architecture at prestigious universities around the world (Cornell University, Columbia University, Miami University).

Her book UH: Common Spaces in Housing Units was published in 2018 by Arquine.

In 2020 she taught the workshop "Abundant scarcities " at Cornell University and in 2021 at Kent State School of Architecture.

Winner of the ‘Best Luxury Architect Studio in Mexico’ given by Luxury Lifestyle Awards

Winner of the The Sustainable Global Award for Architecture 2019 granted by Cité de l’Architecture & du Patrimoine, France

Winner of the Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize for Emerging Architecture MCHAP-Emerge for Common- Unity project, Chicago

Winner of the “Overall Award” and the 1st. place of the “Moving” category given by the Archmarathon Awards, for the “Common Unity” project , Miami

Winner of the Moira Gemmill Award for emerging architecture , awarded by the English magazine The Architectural Review

Nominee Finalist in the Schelling Architecture Award by the Schelling Foundation, Karlsruhe

Winner of the Emerging Voices Award by The Architectural League of New York, New York

*Complete list of awards in full CV
Premios Publicaciones Colaboradores

Download CV
Mexico City

Arquine No.99

Nidos House and Encinos House feautured in the Domestic Section of 99th edition of Arquine Magazine.

Arquine 93

Rozana Montiel’s essay “Game” was published in the architecture magazine “Arquine”


Margherita Vegro IT

Eleonora Pradegan IT

Silvia González Pacheco MX

María Betina Rincón VE

Liliana Coronado MX

Mauricio Méndez BO


Karina Caballero MX

Louise Rouzaud FR

Adriana Rodríguez MX

Ombeline de Laage FR

Hortense Blanchard FR

Arlette Plata MX

Giulia Anserini IT

Eber Granados MX

Yaoci Pardo MX

Francisca López Pani MX

Alin Wallach MX

Laura Stoll CH

Liliana Montaño MX

Vani Monjaraz MX

Ix-Chel Báez MX

Josefa Díaz MX

Caroline Figaro FR

Amaranta Guzmán MX

Silvia Mejía CO

Susana Rojas MX

Alejandro Aparicio MX

Cecilia Brañas ES

Ana Sofía Quirós MX

Erendira Lozano MX

Diana León MX

Luis Galán ES

Clara García ES

Daniel Díaz MX

Marga Ourbinha ES

Sebastián Pérez CO

Rita Sarzedas PT

Adriana Carvalho PT

Lucia Tinghi CH

Hadrien Tricaud FR

Carol Soós RO

Ivar Labastida MX

Eloisa García MX

Simone Willet US

Jorge Alcocer MX

Pipola Gómez ES

Moisés Vargas MX

Aldo Espinobarros MX

Mariel Higuerey VE

Silvia Huicochea MX

Cecilia Ceballos MX

Rodrigo Alcocer MX

Vivian Pérez CO

Alejandro Maya MX

Alejandro Fernández del Castillo MX

Omar Chávez MX